Ouch!

March 3, 2010 at 10:52 am 9 comments

ph-xpressive-7281-wd-sticker-new-us

I’m not sure about you, but I consider myself on the ‘hairy’ side, thus I do have to do the necessary to make myself hair-less at *ehem* certain parts of my body.

I’ve waxed, shaved, threaded, tweezed… and the thing about waxing and threading is you can’t get it done at the comfort of your own home. Yes, you can do waxing at home, but it takes some effort and not as effective as getting it done at the salon. How effective can it be when at every stroke you’d cringe and decided not to pull the wax strips properly to avoid the pain? And yes, I usually get the itchy after-effect that usually lasts several days too.

Shaving is much easier, but the hair that grows back won’t be as fine as when you waxed or tweezed. Or so they say.

And tweezing the underarms really gives you neck pain, no?😀

So a few months ago I decided to invest in an epilator, as above. That’s the exact model I bought. It can be used in the shower, cordless and is rechargeable. A little bit on the pricey side compare to other epilators, but I do think the cordless and rechargeable features are essential.

The verdict? You still need to cringe every time you epilate but you’d get used to it. After several attempts, the pain is not as bad as the previous (maybe because the hair that grows back is finer already).  Sometimes the epilation won’t be as smooth because it really depends on how long your hair is at the time, and I am still on a trial and error mode as when is the best time to epilate. But most of the time, it does its job well, and I am one satisfied customer. The best part is you can do it anytime, and if you’re like me who needs to really plan time to go to the salon, it’s really a heaven-sent!

Now I only need to visit the salon for threading of my eyebrows and upper lips, which does not need frequent visits at all!

 

blog signature

p.s. I still need courage to epilate the bikini line though. Ouch!

Entry filed under: Beauty, Everything Else. Tags: , , , , .

The Summary Easy Mind

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. homelyamoi  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Hahahaa… thank goodness I am on the not so hairy side of the spectrum! Reading your blog entry makes me “cringe” in pain!😛

    Reply
  • 2. noordinarymomster  |  March 3, 2010 at 11:50 am

    homelyamoi,
    lucky you! pain free and cost effective too… hehehe…

    Reply
  • 3. dillazag  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    I so get you when you said,
    “tweezing the underarms really gives you neck pain, no?”

    I used to pay my younger sisters to do it for me. Keji kan?
    Now, diorang dah tak nak buat dah. Maybe coz they are 19, 25 and 26 year old already.
    hahahahahaha

    I need someone to do it for me. So, salon please… PS: Saluga Salon kat Bangsar tu murah je. Eyebrow RM5, underarm RM10, half leg RM20🙂

    Reply
  • 4. noordinarymomster  |  March 3, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    dillazag,
    saluga salon tu selalu ramainyerrrr…! i usually go to those kat ground floor, whichever yg tak ramai😛

    and mmg u sgt keji suruh your sisters do it! hahaha…

    Reply
  • 5. Ms B  |  March 3, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I used the epilator back in uni and it was good. After a few times, u dont feel the pain. Very handy and the result is much better.

    These days, I wax on my own but sometimes I’d go to the salon if I have a hot date.😉 I’ve also learnt to master the upper lip! That’s £7 saved.🙂

    Reply
  • 6. elly  |  March 4, 2010 at 1:15 am

    i’ve invested in one before years ago, though not a cordless one.. but it was really OUCH experience for me and so i didnt use it anymore..😦 maybe i didnt do it right hehehe

    cute la this post btw..mcm advertorial plak.. u sure they didnt pay u to write this?!😉

    Reply
  • 7. noordinarymomster  |  March 4, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Ms B,
    You must have good pain tolerance to be able to wax yourself! Hehehe.

    elly,
    You should try do it again… first time I did it, I had some scratches here and there. After that it was ok.🙂

    And I wished they are paying me. Maybe I should email them or something? Haha.

    Reply
  • 8. naziah  |  March 5, 2010 at 12:59 am

    kalau rajin, i will wax my kaki… if x, every 3 days i will shave… underarms, terpaksa shave la… kalau nak wax kena mintak pertolongan org lain. i havent tried threading… must go once for eyebrow and upper lips.

    Reply
  • 9. noordinarymomster  |  March 5, 2010 at 10:35 am

    ziah,
    you should give it a try. the effect is more natural and neat compare to waxing or tweezing. to me, at least🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 54,277 hits

