Professionalism

December 10, 2009 at 1:20 pm 7 comments

First of all, I hope I spelt that right!

I’ve witnessed a lot of office affairs in my own office – some very obvious, some a bit blurry, some publicly displayed, some trying hard to hide (but of course still obvious)… and I don’t see anything wrong with it, provided both parties are not hooked up with anyone else, by marriage especially.

I’ve read an article once, saying it’s easy to fall for your own colleague just because of one simple reason. Most people are at their best when in the office, be it behaviour, the way they dress, the way they carry themselves, etc. I guess it’s true, especially if you work for a company that requires a lot of competing, you tend to display your best. But I guess if everyone remains at the highest level of professionalism, none of the unwanted would happen. And of course, those who are at their best in the office may be the total opposite at home! So think twice the next time you drool over somebody just because they look hot in the office.😉

I personally think how you address each other in the office is important. Nowadays, people call everybody ‘Babe’. Or the Malaysianized ‘Beb’. But in the office, I think it’s more appropriate to just call your colleagues by name, no? I mean, I’ve never called my male colleagues ‘Babe’. It just doesn’t sound right. I’d seriously spare that only for people close to me. Obviously it sounds a little intimate to be addressing your colleagues with that, so please, avoid it! It could trigger some ‘perasan’ moments, for all you know…

Second most worrying trend – the SMS. Obviously it’s OK to sms your colleagues, work related. And if you are on a more friendly term with your colleagues, after office hours. But I don’t see the point of sms-ing even the simplest stuffs!

Like, where are you… thought you said you’d be here to settle some work with me… or, got anything to discuss with me at 5? (which is the end of the office hour)…or, is everyone in the meeting room already?

If someone is not there to do the work with you, then just do it yourself… or if someone didn’t say anything about any discussion, then just go home… and just go to the meeting room if it’s time for the meeting, for goodness sake!

Limit the sms for important stuffs. Limit the conversation only when you are at the office. In fact, I don’t think one should be on a too-friendly manner with colleagues of the other gender at anytime of the day. I don’t blame the guys alone, because lately, from what I’ve heard and seen, women too played their part shamelessly.

Prevention is always better than cure, anyway.

Just my two cents!

 

blog signature

Entry filed under: Everything Else, just some thoughts, Life, Work. Tags: .

Freshen Up Another Journey Up North

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ms B  |  December 10, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Momster,

    I LOVE this entry!!!!😛 my current workplace is like a telenovela (did I get that right?) Directors leaving wife and kids for a younger chic analyst/junior manager. Some are ok ie eligible hot looking bosses with beautiful single juniors but the problem arises when it comes to work. Other directors would think twice to have these women on their deal bcos they dont want to piss their friend/boss as the projects are long hours. So the ladies either resign or transfer to other depts. What a waste, esp when it is hard to get in.

    But i heard these things are fast happening back home e.g. the famous landmark in kl.😉

    Reply
  • 2. momster  |  December 11, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Ms B,
    It is worrying isn’t it… but I guess it all falls back to the individual themselves. If they appreciate their other halves and love them enough, it won’t happen so easily.

    But if it did, then the partner (victim of the situation) should be able to evaluate if their cheating halves are worth it, or not.

    Reply
  • 3. wani  |  December 15, 2009 at 7:53 am

    mcm phm je entry ni. anyway, i personally think ‘babe’ is only for gurls. kan? and for close ones saja.

    dont talk to them about professionalism when they cant even differenciate which is work and which is personal.

    teruk tau derang ni.

    Reply
  • 4. momster  |  December 15, 2009 at 10:03 am

    wani,
    youngsters nowadays are too different! but then again, yang dah tua2 pun sama jugak… it takes two to tango anyway!😉

    Reply
  • 5. Amoi  |  December 17, 2009 at 11:17 am

    [Been a while since I came to the blog…]

    I must say, good entry.
    I guess the scenarios given are pretty standard across every company.

    In my firm, you can see a lot of dramas especially when we have company event out-of-town.
    Shamelessly… ppl making out, flirting publicly, wearing skimpy outfits, etc. just to attract attention from the opposite sex.

    To me…. (PLEASE)…. work is work.
    And if it is really “destined”… make sure you are single AND available before you screw up someone else’s life.😛

    Reply
  • 6. MissNS  |  December 22, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Hi, I’ve been your silent reader but can’t help commenting on this post. I totally agree with you, , flirty sms exchanges, jokes exchanges, then lead to another and next thing you know, there are exchanges outside office hrs & weekend. everybody can fall into this trap(talking from experience), so question is, should we or should we not check out other half HP?

    Reply
  • 7. momster  |  December 22, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Amoi,
    Sad isn’t it?

    MissNS,
    Since u r talking from experience
    you must’ve given the issue a lot of
    thought. Checking the other half’s hp
    may or may not help coz they can always
    delete the content.

    But I guess if Allah wants the non-guilty party to know, t
    they’ll find out eventually. Thanks for dropping by!🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 54,277 hits

