From DSH

August 7, 2009 at 9:14 pm 7 comments

Finally, I get to go online tonight coz Mr. Hubs laptop is with me, and yes, because last night I managed a good night sleep and feeling much fresher than previous days & nights.

Some of you may have read reports from n.i.’s blog. Imtiyaz is infected by viral fever, and mum’s infected with Influenza A. Mum’s resting at home at the mo with little bro to take care of her – Alhamdulillah, fever’s gone, cough’s getting better… just a little weak. Imtiyaz’s temperature has not been too high these few days, just that the doc would like to make sure it’s stabilized and his diarrhea subsides. Fifth night in the hospital and he’s been entertaining himself with the buttons around him. A normal bed could even be Transformers to him now!

Checkout the transformers bed!

Checkout the transformers bed!

Just a little note on the Influenza A (H1N1) scare. If you have been at the hospital recently, you’d know how serious the condition is now. It scares me seeing people with masks all around. It scares me to see the pediatrician doing his ward rounds carrying a hand sanitizer (eventhough it’s definitely a good practise). It scares me to hear people calling me up telling their family members who seems weak and with some minor symptoms being refused from admittance/proper checkup at hospital’s A&E – just because the place is too jam-packed already. It scares me to think that even if one is infected, they might be refused treatment until it turns critical. It even scares me to hear all hospital rooms are full.

Things I haven’t thought of, before I came here last Monday.

I think I just might skip my company’s team building trip to Club Med, Cherating next week too. Something I’ve been looking forward to, yes, but how fun could fun be when there are things to worry about? Afterall, I do need to quarantine myself too, no?

Be safe people, and do avoid public places if you can!

 

Entry filed under: Family, just some thoughts, Life. Tags: , , .

You Are What You Eat Back!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amoi  |  August 7, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    And here I am wondering what happened to you, dude!
    I thought you have gone for your company trip!

    Gosh! @.@

    I hope things are OK! How’s your mom? How did she get it?

    And you know ironic this is?! Today, we were told that 1 of our clients was confirmed to be down with H1N1 too. 4 of my team members were asked to quarantine because they were 1st level of contact. The rest of us… “play by ear”, i.e. work as usual. But hand sanitizers and mask will be distributed!

    Take care there. And yeah… stay at home!

    Reply
  • 2. noordinarymomster  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Amoi,
    My mum’s down with Influenza A. Influenza A could or could not be H1N1(the mutated virus) – the test available at this hospital is only for Influenza A. I do hope it’s not H1N1 though. And am relieved her fever’s down, eventhough deep down inside I am still worried.

    She has been indoors most of the time except for her daily morning walk at the park. The haze could be a factor too though.

    You take care too!

    Reply
  • 3. Ms B  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    oh dear! I was wondering what happened to you. Sorry to hear about this dear. kisses to imtiyaz and not forgetting the Transformer bed (has he named it yet?)😉

    a few people in my dept (just few desks away) had the flu and they are back, fully recovered. we can see sanitizer everywhere, including our guest lounge!

    Keep your spirits high ok! actually, we moms tend to get emo when it comes to our kids. take good care.

    Reply
  • 4. ideserveabreak  |  August 8, 2009 at 4:10 am

    so thats where you’ve been! i read your sister’s blog and get the whole big picture now.

    here’s wishing a very speedy recovery for both your mom and imtiyaz, amin. you take it easy too. its actually heartbreaking seeing your love ones ill and weak.

    and yknow, im terrified of winter as its going to be more difficult to treat the mutated strain of the h1n1 then. might consider taking time off as i dont want to take the risk working in a busy emergency department. you might never know who’s coming through the door. i wouldnt be worried before but with a small baby now, i should really think well before going back to work in the winter.

    Reply
  • 5. noordinarymomster  |  August 8, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Ms B,
    Imtiyaz haven’t named the bed yet. If one with back pain sits on it, would definitely disapprove!😛

    With viruses everywhere, I wish I can just hibernate at home. *sigh*

    Thanks for the well wishes!

    IDB,
    I think you should take the time off! Just wished I can do the same too. I might keep Imtiyaz off school for some time for the same reasons. Kids wouldn’t know how to keep themselves clean-touch everything and then stick the finger in the mouth. Risau!

    Reply
  • 6. ly-d  |  August 8, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    here’s to the speedy recovery of both your mum and imtiyaz. it is scary about hving the symptoms but being turned away because you do not fit the criteria to be tested for H1N1. sometimes i think even the authorities are not treating this as seriously as they can.

    we’ve started ensuring the kids use hand sanitiser as frequent as they can.. and now i am wary of having the kids tag along my pregnancy checkup due to the number of ppl turning up with flu-like symptoms but not practising common sense like covering their mouths when they cough / sneeze

    and to add to that, the neighborhood where kakak’s pre-school is has an outbreak of HFM disease.. so that’s another thing to worry about..

    sigh. we just need to be extra vigilant and observant of any changes (health-wise) in our loved ones and friends…

    Reply
  • 7. ida.z  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    Hope that your mom and Imtiyaz will get well soon!

    Yes..hand sanitizer has been one of my must-have in my handbag now…praying that this epidemic will soon disappear..AMIN..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 54,277 hits

