Kerteh and me

April 3, 2009 at 3:38 pm 4 comments

petrosainskerteh1

The beach which I only get to enjoy for an hour from the whole 7 nights stay!

Let’s just say for the past 6 days, 2 days logged work hours is equivalent to a week of normal work day! And yes, the work hours I’ve done at my current company is always at a moderate rate – work and life balance is the key.🙂

And no, I didn’t have to go offshore.

I had to in the beginning, and was ready with my coverall, together with my safety shoes and glasses. Just a day before departure, I was told I’d be going to the most remote location, which is a 1.5 hours helicopter ride. And yes, no toilet, and no walking around in the chopper, of course! So naturally, I had to tell them about my coccyx pain, where sitting down for that long would be a definite torture.

Heli

Up close & personal with the choppers

As much as I am glad (main reason was because I didn’t have a safety passport, so in the event of emergency I wouldn’t know how to escape from the helicopter! Yeah, yeah… me and my worries…), I am sure it is actually good experience for me to go. If they were to send me to a nearer location, I won’t give it a miss! Oh-well, maybe next time…

The plus side of not going – is to have Mr. Hubs and my boy drove up for a night stay at the hotel. The boy has been talking about hotels and beaches since a few weeks back (from friends’ holiday stories & past holiday photos), so it’s kind of a good idea for them to join me, except that I had to make an early escape on Saturday (early as in 6pm, mind you, because the rest stayed until 1am) just to have some fun at the beach for a while, followed by dinner.

The next morning I’d have to be at the airport by 5am, so I left the boys while they were still sleeping. They left for home just after breakfast, dropped by the airport to say goodbye and I was left to work for 15 hours that day. Not fun, I know!

Now that I’m guilty for not able to spend as much time with them as I want to, I think I should have a proper beach holiday in another few weeks time! I needed it, and the boy has been asking for it… and I’m sure Mr. Hubs wouldn’t mind it at all!

Owh. Yesteday, I’ve been talking to a lady who actually has a breast reduction done, and was she glad she had all the weight lifted off her! I guess when it’s a breast reduction, people talk openly about it. Unlike the opposite!

And yes, I’m looking forward to a javanese massage & a facial at the hotel’s spa this evening. Yeay!

p.s. I actually met Izy at the airport!🙂

Entry filed under: Family, Travel, Work. Tags: , .

Away for a bit Photos from the PetroSains & DinoTrek visit

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ms B  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    momster,

    Oh dear. I hope u get some rest after the project completes. at least ur family joined and spent time with u.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Rina  |  April 4, 2009 at 12:07 am

    hey was this entry already posted when i was ym-ing with you??

    anyway, 15 hours non stop work aint too bad, try 33 hours straight with no sleep..lagi tak funny…

    glad you had the family with you in kerteh!

    Reply
  • 3. shasha  |  April 5, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    glad they managed to join you and break-up those stressful working days! kids just love the beach don’t they?🙂

    Reply
  • 4. momster  |  April 6, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Ms B,
    The weekend is too short to have a rest!😉 But at least I’m having regular work hours again…

    Rina,
    Nope, I wrote this post offline. Uploaded it when I’m back in office.🙂

    Haha… can’t imagine 33 hours straight! Hope I won’t have to go through that…😛

    shasha,
    Yups, kids love it, and the parents too, of course! Imtiyaz is SO like Imran, requesting for another beach holiday already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 54,277 hits

