The Year 2009 1430H

January 2, 2009 at 2:48 pm 8 comments

)

1st family photo for Year 2009 - thanks to my long-forgotten mini tripodπŸ™‚

How I started off the New Year :

  • Watched the fireworks @ The Curve from my apartment window. I don’t like crowds, so I don’t go out when other people does.
  • Went to Lake Garden for a picnic and a walk, and for Imtiyaz to enjoy the playground. If it weren’t for the rain, I’d stay for hours!

How I hope the New Year would be :

  • As good as 2008 had been, hopefully better!

……………………………………………………….

While walking to our cars after work on the last day of the year, a colleague said she’s sad 2008 is ending because it has been a good year for her.

It has been a good year for me too.

Of course, there has been some events that can’t be avoided. Events that I wished never had to happen. If I could turn back time to mend whatever that needs mending, I would. But would I know if it is worth doing?

In the year 2008, I actually taught myself to be selfish at times. To not always think of people’s needs or feelings more than my own. To speak up when needed, even if it means hurting.

2008 is also the year I joined a company that makes me feel good about myself. A company that did not make me google for new job opportunities just after a month, which is a big deal for me, you know!πŸ˜‰

2008 sees Imtiyaz, and us, becoming more independent in some ways. Moved house, maid-less, new school. This is the year Imtiyaz developed his speech & communication skills. The year he is able to utter perfect sentences, and for semi-bombastic words to come out of his little mouth.

Never did I expect him (at just over 2 years old) to tell me he gets to go to the library at school, to perform on stage for his school concert, to know all his friends’ names, to suddenly invent songs from things that he sees, to know where to move the mouse and when to click, and to say ‘I have the energy to take on the world!’

Errr… the last part he actually took from some cartoons/movies he watched, but I am certain he knows what it means, and I hope he meant it!πŸ™‚

He is also displaying an unbelievable amount of self confidence, it makes me scared sometimes! Imagine stopping at the traffic light, and calling out “Untle” to the lorry driver stopping next to us! Also acknowledging everyone he sees whether it’s in the lift, or on the streets with a simple “heyo untle”, “heyo aunty”. He even invited the ‘untle’ that came to install Astro at home to go checkout his toy room!

2008 too, I felt, has tighten the bond between me and my close friends. We managed to make more time for each other, and we try to make most occasions special in their own way, no matter how simple or understated it seems.

I sure am glad to have you guys as friends!

And yes, for Mr. Hubs too, the end of the year 2008 seems to be opening up more opportunities for him, and I believe it will be much better this new year, InsyaAllah.

So there. I think I’ll stop here, eventhough there is so much more to add. I hope for better years ahead for all of us, and for ourselves to be better too, inside out.

When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened for us.
Helen Keller

Have a good weekend!

Entry filed under: Family, Friends, Kids, Life. Tags: .

December Wedding Highway Drama

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. n.i.  |  January 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    untle? hehehehe… yes 2008 also teaches us to speak english with a chinese twang, thanx to imtiyaz!
    sorry couldn’t join u guys yesterday at the lake garden… belum baik demam lagi…

    Reply
  • 2. noordinarymomster  |  January 2, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    oooo yes, that’s another one!πŸ™‚

    lake garden best laa… hehe…

    Reply
  • 3. Ms B  |  January 3, 2009 at 5:07 am

    momster,

    I must say that this is one beautiful post. I am touched by the way it was written and I could sense how much the year has meant to you.

    I hope that 2009 will be better for you and your loved ones.

    ps: I pun 2×5 dgn n.i. this bug is still sticking. but that didnt stop me to get another pair of shoes today and 2 perfume sets!πŸ˜€ the perfume was 50% off (vera wang and armani).

    Reply
  • 4. MoMsTeR HuBbY  |  January 5, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Dear Guys..
    Wait for the next post from Momster.. Very.. Very suprising.. After 2 years at I can’t still stop thinking why it happened… SUPRISE…

    Reply
  • 5. n.i.  |  January 5, 2009 at 11:45 am

    momsterhubby,
    misteri alam… hanya Allah yang maha mengetahui…
    tuah berangan kuat sangat… kalau ya pun nak jadi chairman pet.ronas tu, bebawak bersabar hahaha

    Reply
  • 6. Dydd  |  January 5, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    momsterhubby mmg confirm berangan nak jadik CEO petπŸ™‚

    nway, happy anni to you – both my dear friends! and of course, prosperous years ahead!πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 7. noordinarymomster  |  January 6, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    hmmmmm… takleh nak cakap apa dah!πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 8. Rina  |  January 6, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    nin, i hope its not too late to wish you and family ‘happy new year 2009!’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 54,277 hits

